My wife was nine months pregnant. Our due date was September 11, 2001. We had gone to bed the night before wondering if tomorrow would be the day our first daughter would be born.

We woke up the next morning with no labor pains and no baby. As was our custom, I started getting ready for work while my wife Mandy spent a few extra minutes in bed. While I was in the shower, I heard the phone ring. Mandy answered. “Hello?” And then a pause. “Oh my God.” It was her mom calling. She told us New York had been bombed and the United States was under attack.

We turned on the TV news and stood silent at the foot of the bed watching the events of the morning unfold. Neither of us spoke. We watched the towers burn and the chaos envelop New York. We stood there for a half hour just watching. Not knowing what was happening. Not knowing what to do.

In a daze, I finished getting dressed and got in my car to go to work. As I drove up the 680 I wondered, should I even be going to work? Oh my god, I had friends who worked at the World Trade Center. Was San Francisco in danger? What was happening next?

I got to work, but not much was getting done. Everyone was following the events of the day online. They sent us home a few hours later.

Emails started flying around amongst my Georgetown friends trying to find people we knew. My friend Ned was in New York on business. My friend Jason worked in the World Trade Center. My friend Julie worked there too. I had gone to school in Washington DC and had friends who worked at the Pentagon. Where were they? Were they OK? I was so far away and felt so helpless.

голова болит секс

Ned was fine. He couldn’t get out of New York so he and a friend rented a car to drive back to San Francisco. Julie had been in the towers when the planes hit and had managed to get down the stairs to safety. Everyone I knew at the Pentagon was fine. My friend Jason died on the 94th floor of Tower 2.

Jason had been best friends with one of my roommates, Peter. They were a year behind me at Georgetown. Jason would come and hang out at our apartment visiting with Peter and we’d have some beers. Or we’d hang out at the Tombs. We once got dragged by Peter out to Gettysburg College because he knew some girls out there who needed dates for a sorority dance. Jason’s date that night, Sarah, would later become his fiance but they would never have the chance to get married. Our friend Julie, who had been at the WTC that day, wrote a memorial for Jason here.

We learned later on that another classmate of mine, Joey Eacobacci had died on the 105th floor of the north tower.

The next few days passed in a haze as we learned who was OK and watched the story unfold.  I can’t pretend to understand the emotions and the grief of the families who lost people that day. I can’t pretend that I lost my best friend or a brother or a sister. But every one of us lost something that day whether we knew personally one of the victims of 9/11 or not.  Every one of us has something to remember.

Seven days later our daughter Ashley was born and from the chaos of death and destruction she brought us peace, love, hope, and life. голова болит секс голова болит секс The Tommyknockers movies

