My grandfather passed away in the summer of 2004. We called him Papa Jack. He was one of the most important men in my life. He taught me about responsibility, family, hard work, business, and golf. A few months later, my son was born and we named him Jack after my grandfather.

 This past weekend, my uncle was at my grandmother’s house doing a bit of work for her and came across an old picture of my grandfather that he scanned and sent out to us.

 Papa Jack had headed out one morning for his usual foursome, or so the story goes. It was the week before the AT&T Pebble Beach ProAm or some other tournament down in Monterey. Allegedly, because of rain, they had to move some of the practice rounds to a few of the neighboring courses. When he showed up, they told him, “Mr. Kilmartin, we have some guests we need to get out on the course today. Would you mind splitting up your foursome to accommodate them? We’d like them to go out with a member to show them the course.” Being the gentleman he was, he obliged.

 A few minutes later, the starter called their group to the first tee, “Kilmartin and Nicklaus, now on the first tee.” When he got to the tee, there waiting to play a round with him was Jack Nicklaus and his son Jackie (Jackie is on the left).

 Papa Jack didn’t talk too much about some of the amazing things he did in life, so I never found out how he shot or how his round was, but he did tell me what a thrill it was to play a round of golf on his home course with Jack Nicklaus.

 I can only imagine.

Jack_and_jack

