I’m proud to announce the launch of the Purple People Collective.

Seems like everywhere you turn, people are getting laid off.  That puts a lot of talent out on the market at a pretty crappy time to be out of work.  Having gone through it myself back in February, I had wished that there was somewhere to reconnect with my colleagues and band together to help find freelance work.  Well, following the Yahoo layoffs last week, my business partner, Jonathan, and I decided to do something about it.

Today, we launched the Purple People Collective.  The PPC is for recently laid off Yahoos (or anyone else) to put up a profile announcing that they’re available for short term freelance gigs.  If you’ve got a gig that you’re looking to hire for, hopefully you can find someone here.  The Yahoos I worked with were some of the most talented, creative, and hardworking people I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.

It’s our first day up, so we’re aware that there may be some bugs.  Please tell us about them using the Get Help link at the bottom of the page (it goes to Get Satisfaction).  It’s free to post a profile or a gig so hopefully there’s no reason not to sign up.  We’re just trying to help people who want gigs and people who have gigs to meet up.  Hopefully it can help someone fill the short term cashflow gaps that come with getting laid off.

Good luck and god speed, Yahoos.

(P.S. I’m available for consulting and our company Koombea can help build that web app you’ve been dreaming about.  We built the Purple People Collective in a few days.)

