It’s not really only 24 hours, but it’s only been 24 hours here at ryankuder.com. And so without further ado…here are the top 5 things I’ve learned so far:

  1. I am not a PHP guy. It took me 40 minutes to figure out how to get the blogroll out of the left column. I’m gonna have to brush up on my code understanding capabilities a bit. Although, I can brag that once that second blogroll was gone, it only took me 5 minutes to get my Twitter feed in the right place. There’s still a pesky 404 on my archives page, but @technosailor gave me some advice that I’ll look into.
  2. Developing ideas to blog about is a full time job. I was thinking about it last night. And in the car on the way to see my client this morning. And on my way home. And over lunch. And about 10 minutes ago. And even as I write out #2, I’m still working on 3, 4, and 5.
  3. People are awesome. The comments, the links, and the retweets have all been awesome. What’s good for the folks I work with is that it can be a bit intimidating to start publishing, even if you’ve been doing it for a while. But when you finally get your content out there, people are supportive and encouraging.
  4. Do not underestimate the power of social media. When I put out a Tweet last night that we’d gotten the blog up finally, I expected a handful of twitter friends to stop by. That was until somebody stumbled my blog. When I woke up this morning, we’d had over 500 visitors. Over night. From one stumble. It’s amazing. When I twittered about that this morning, @insomniamg told me that because of that case study, Garreth Camp (CEO of Stumbleupon) had mentioned this blog in his keynote at Next Web–after only one post. Now, I’ve got no confirmation on that, but if that’s true, it shows how a tweet here and a stumble there by the right people can do awesome things. (If you happened to see Garreth’s keynote, I’d love to know the context. Leave me a comment!)
  5. You can’t do it alone. If you could, it wouldn’t be social media, now would it? In the past 24 hours, I’ve gotten help from @jonathant getting the blog set up, critiques from my wife, great feedback from friends (and strangers), and a stumble here and there. Lesson learned: reach out. Let people know what you’re doing. Invite them along. Because this is the web and it’s meant to be shared.
